2015 Results


The Atlantean—Outstanding Achievement, Book (single author)

Winner: Deke Parsons for J.R.R. Tolkien, Robert E. Howard and the Birth of Modern Fantasy


The Valusian—Outstanding Achievement, Anthology

No Eligible Nominee


The Hyrkanian—Outstanding Achievement, Print Essay

Winner: Jeffrey Shanks for “What the Thak?: Anthropological Oddities in Howard’s Works.” (REH: Two-Gun Raconteur No. 17)


The Cimmerian—Outstanding Achievement, Online Essay

Winner: Rob Roehm for “The Legend of the Trunk (8 parts)” (REH: Two-Gun Raconteur blog)


The Aquilonian—Outstanding Achievement, Periodical

Winner: Damon Sasser for REH: Two-Gun Raconteur No. 17


The Stygian—Outstanding Achievement, Website

Winner: Damon Sasser, et al. for the REH: Two-Gun Raconteur blog


The Venarium Award—Emerging Scholar

Winner: Karen Joan Kohoutek


The Black River Award—Special Achievement

Winner:Ed Chaczyk for organizing and promoting the online drive to raise money for repairs to the Robert E. Howard house.

The Rankin Award—Artistic Achievement in the depiction of REH’s life and/or work

Winner: Tom Gianni for cover art for Fists of Iron, Round 3 (REHFP).


The Black Circle Award—Lifetime Achievement

Winner: Karl Edward Wagner


The Black Circle Award—Nominees for next year’s Award

Nominee: Roy Thomas


A list of the nominees is here.


Three nominees are selected in each category by the Legacy Circle members of the Robert E. Howard Foundation from all of the eligible candidates. All members of the Foundation then vote on their choice from the available nominees in each category. Each member casts only one vote in each category and votes are counted equally regardless of membership level.

Some categories have years where no viable nominee or winner meet the eligibility requirements. In such cases, no award for that category is given for that year. In categories where there is only one nominee, the nominee still requires at least a 60% vote of approval to win.

Voting opens as soon as a list of nominees is posted and announced. The winners are then announced at a ceremony during the annual Robert E. Howard Days festival in Texas (held each year on the second weekend in June).

Individual votes are kept in the strictest confidence; only gross aggregate percentages are ever revealed to anyone.